Wednesday, 27 July 2011

Nicki Minaj, Adam Lambert Take Early O Music Awards

Favorite Animated GIF prize goes to Nicki Minaj, while Lambert wins Favorite F--- Yeah Tumblr
By Gil Kaufman

Adam Lambert
Photo: Getty/ Jason LaVeris

You were warned that the inaugural O Music Awards would not be the usual tuxedos and big-up-to-the-man-upstairs schmooze fest. We proved it when the first award was handed out on Monday night following a spirit debate that resulted in Andy Grammer's choose-your-own-adventure video for "Keep Your Head Up" winning the Most Innovative Video award.

Though the official awards show doesn't take place until Thursday night in Las Vegas, more magical cubes were handed out on Monday and Tuesday, including the NSFW-named Favorite F--- Yeah Tumblr trophy.

In a tight race, the F--- Yeah Adam Lambert Tumblr won, beating out a bevy of big-name competitors, including Trey Songz, Radiohead's Thom Yorke, Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Kid Cudi, Kayne West, Janelle Monae, Harajuku Barbie (a.k.a. Nicki Minaj), "Crazy Britney" and Beyoncé.

Though all the sites feature stellar candid and posed pictures of the stars, video clips and homebrewed collages, it was the Tumblr dedicated to glam-pop king Adam Lambert that took the crown. Packed with glamour shots and lots of quirky animated GIFs, the site offers nearly 300 pages of all things Adam, showing the fierce dedication of the Glam Nation.

The Favorite Animated GIF award was revealed by none other than MTV TJ Gabi Gregg. "I'm online 24-hours a day, pretty much, or it feels like that," said Gregg in a video announcing the prize. "I was super exited to see that this category even existed. I love GIFs. I retweet them, I reblog them, I Facebook them." And without further ado, she said the clear cube would go to ... Nicki Minaj "Gum Twirl."

The frantic GIF of a pop-eyed Nicki furiously spinning some pink gum around her finger won over some seriously fierce competition, including such nominees as the "50 Cent, Bert and Kermit" mash-up, the "50 Cent, Rebecca Black and Bert" mash-up called "Which Seat Can I Take," the infamous Justin Bieber "Tongue Roll," not to mention the Jeckyll-and-Hyde-like Kanye West clip "Kanye Smile, Then Angry" (taken from an MTV News interview), the highlights of the Katy Perry " 'California Gurls' Whipped Cream" scene, the seductive Lady Gaga "Finger Lickin' Good" clip as well as the fake Rihanna/Katy Perry "Catfight" and the hilarious Whitney Houston "Whitney Points" segment from the "Oprah Winfrey Show."

"I know the Barbs and Nicki are very happy, so congratulations to all of you who voted," Gabi said.

Stay tuned all this week for more award announcements.

The inaugural O Music Awards will stream live from Las Vegas at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT on Tune in to see who will reign supreme in categories like Most Viral Dance, Funniest Music Short and NSFW Music Video!

Related Artists


Pauley Perrette Valerie Perrine Bernadette Peters Lori Petty Dedee Pfeiffer

No comments:

Post a Comment